top of page

Running for City Council


Hello, my name is John Pogorzelski and I have decided to put my name forward for the Municipal Election taking place in October 2017. I moved to Lethbridge in 2013 from Regina Saskatchewan. To be honest, things weren't working out for me in Regina, so I moved 6 hours west to look for new opportunities. I started working for the Southern Alberta Ethnic Association (SAEA) when it was located in the Bill Kergen Centre and what an amazing opportunity to meet and engage our ethno-cultural groups in our communities. I was fortunate to play a large role in planning Latin Fest, I was the organizer of the World Cup screening downtown, on the first Black History Month Committee and planned Oktoberfest YQL. Needless to say I have found a home in this community, so I want to give back to Lethbridge by serving on City Council to give back to this community, the way it has given to me.

I am a Metis citizen of Canada and a German citizen, I have bought my first home in Lethbridge with my beautiful wife Ana and our puppy dog Bruce, who can be a handful at times. I have been an avid volunteer since I have been in Lethbridge, I was the first president of the Rotary Club of Lethbridge Mosaic, a member of the Original Business Breakfast Club and our small business Pogo Bros Inc. is a proud member of the Chamber of Commerce.

My core values are Integrity, Respect, Honesty, Ambition, Confidence, Creativity, Optimism, Passion, Collaboration, Patience & Humility. As well, the teachings from my indigenous elders have taught me a lot about respect for people, animals and the environment. I want to bring these values into every decision I make, every question I ask and in how I deal with citizens on a daily basis.

WHAT I WANT FOR LETHBRIDGE:

- A welcoming & inclusive community for all citizens to be able to participate, access and be engaged. This includes: poverty reduction, harm reduction work, accessibility to transit services, advancing the inclusion policy and collaborating with agencies and services that are doing this work in our community.

- Lethbridge as a place to do business. Encouraging small business owners, working closely with the Chamber of Commerce, Economic Development Lethbridge and the Downtown Business Revitalization Zone to encourage entrepreneurship and economic growth.

- A Vibrant Downtown. Attracting visitors and guests to our beautiful city is extremely important. It is wonderful to have a number of festivals, walking tours, businesses, art galleries and museums, non-profit agencies and the wonderful farmer's market in the summer. It is important to continue positive expansion in our downtown to attract visitors, guests, tourists and citizens to enjoy what Lethbridge has to offer.

- Email me at John4council@gmail.com for more information or to inquire about my political platform

Thank you for taking the time to read mt webpage.


bottom of page